Women leading and influencing

Regina and Kylie

Back to Current Cohort

Regina Poima Seki

Papua New Guinea
PhD - Public Health (Policy and Management)
Curtin University, WA

Regina's doctorate examines how healthcare organisations can achieve maximum benefit from their employees. This research is supported by Regina's extensive work in nursing and health management in PNG's Western highlands health services. For ten years, Regina also has volunteered as the Community Health Representative at Kagamuga Airport Urban Community organisation, where she brought people together to discuss community health issues and disseminate health information.

Regina is concerned that PNG's maternal mortality rate has not improved, even with PNG's 2013 policy for free maternal health care. She would like to see strong leadership, good governance, ethical principles and a multisector approach be central to the healthcare system, so that scarce resources are allocated appropriately, services are accessible to all, and universal health coverage is achieved by 2020.

Kylie Jenkins

Maternal and Newborn Health Advisor, Fiji Health Facility, WA

Kylie is a maternal and child health, immunisation, and communicable diseases expert, with 20 years of experience in Australia and the Pacific. She also is a registered nurse, and has worked in Port Moresby's General Hospital (Operation Open Heart) as well as in hospitals in Fiji, Tonga, and Australia.

Kylie has coordinated a number of post-disaster health projects, ensuring interventions are effective and wide reaching, and she has advised the World Health Organisation and UNICEF on issues of immunisation and health education. In 2005, Kylie initiated the Pacific Immunisation Program Strengthening (PIPS) committee, which lead to a collaborative approach to donor funding and technical support for immunisation programs, and successfully coordinated the efforts of 22 Pacific Islands Countries. She also recently assisted the Murdoch Children's Research Institute to introduce three new vaccines into four Pacific Island countries (Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu).